What's new

Welcome to TerraMaps Forum

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

Missing textures in OpenGL

summershere

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I am on a Quest! :) What I have learned so far is that there are issues with OpenGL and some textures, so I want to track that down (and hopefully have it working at the end). My current list of mods is quite long, so I'm making that simpler by starting a new profile with only one mod (or multiple files of one mod) in it to see where the issues were.

To that end, I currently have 4 files enabled on my "test" profile - ETS2 AllWorld Map and Road to Asia (Def/Map, Models, Assets in that order). Obviously it's disconnected, but that doesn't matter for testing. I started the game in this test profile in Dalian to verify the previous issues.

Why start with Road to Asia? I'm glad you asked! :) First, while buildings and road textures could be affected by any mod, country flags in-game should be specific to the mod that added that country (unless they overlap) and I observed that the Asian flags in game are all black. There are others, but this is a place to start. For example, the flags at the end of the pier in Dalian (which I assume should be Chinese). Note that the flags in the Navigator ("Welcome to China") work fine, so we're just talking about in-world textures.

Also, I observed some suspicious error messages in my game.log which relate to Road to Asia, so that contributed to my decision to start here. First, there are the traffic.sii dangling pointers which I assume relate to other traffic on the road so I'm ignoring them for now (which I might be wrong of course, I am new to this). There are missing ferries to Jakarta (which the Java mod isn't installed, so this seems fine). After that, though, while driving up to a black spot in the road (leaving from the company near the buyable garage in Incheon, the black spot should be a crosswalk):

Code:
00:03:15.646 : <ERROR> Master prefab defines terrain points, but corner (/prefab/corners/bridge/us_split_0-2_exit_straight_100_mirrored.ppd) prefab has no terrain point!
00:03:16.591 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:16.591 : <ERROR> [traffic] Unable to determine output road lane 3 for road item at node (0x4213590055800000). Please check prefab<->road connection!
00:03:16.591 : <ERROR> [traffic] Error initializing traffic prefab borders (0x42135C0816000001)
00:03:16.591 : <ERROR> [traffic] Failed to register Prefab item 0x42135C0816000001
00:03:16.592 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:39.447 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:39.447 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:39.597 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:39.607 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:03:50.158 : <ERROR> [traffic] Unable to determine output road lane 3 for road item at node (0x4213590055800000). Please check prefab<->road connection!
00:03:50.158 : <ERROR> [traffic] Error initializing traffic prefab borders (0x42135C0816000001)
00:03:50.158 : <ERROR> [traffic] Failed to register Prefab item 0x42135C0816000001
00:03:57.735 : <WARNING> Ignoring obsolete attribute 'shuffle_animations' of unit '_nameless.cinematic.camera' (of type 'cinematic_camera').

The sign going the opposite way (into the garage/company) is also black, so that makes sense. (Besides the crosswalk that was the original observation.)

Now, restarting the game in DirectX mode, the sign and crosswalk appear normal (from the same position at the gate). The errors look similar but in a different order:

Code:
00:01:12.072 : <ERROR> Master prefab defines terrain points, but corner (/prefab/corners/bridge/us_split_0-2_exit_straight_100.ppd) prefab has no terrain point!
00:01:12.080 : <ERROR> Master prefab defines terrain points, but corner (/prefab/corners/bridge/us_split_0-2_exit_straight_100_mirrored.ppd) prefab has no terrain point!
00:01:12.080 : <ERROR> Master prefab defines terrain points, but corner (/prefab/corners/bridge/us_split_0-2_exit_straight_100.ppd) prefab has no terrain point!
00:01:12.081 : <ERROR> Master prefab defines terrain points, but corner (/prefab/corners/bridge/us_split_0-2_exit_straight_100_mirrored.ppd) prefab has no terrain point!
00:01:12.213 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:01:12.218 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:01:13.323 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:01:13.323 : <ERROR> [traffic] Unable to determine output road lane 3 for road item at node (0x4213590055800000). Please check prefab<->road connection!
00:01:13.323 : <ERROR> [traffic] Error initializing traffic prefab borders (0x42135C0816000001)
00:01:13.323 : <ERROR> [traffic] Failed to register Prefab item 0x42135C0816000001
00:01:13.323 : <ERROR> Missing sign template definition sign_templ.user_m_00002
00:01:21.733 : <WARNING> Ignoring obsolete attribute 'shuffle_animations' of unit '_nameless.cinematic.camera' (of type 'cinematic_camera').

Note that these errors appear earlier in the file and may be relevant, but they look unrelated to the sign and crosswalk (but still may show an issue):

Code:
00:01:11.587 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/model/props/road/bumpers.tobj' in the read_only mode.
00:01:11.587 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/model/props/road/bumpers.tobj'
00:01:11.587 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/model/props/road/bumpers_mult.tobj' in the read_only mode.
00:01:11.587 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/model/props/road/bumpers_mult.tobj'
00:01:11.661 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/vehicle/wheel/steel/wheel.tobj' in the read_only mode.
00:01:11.661 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/vehicle/wheel/steel/wheel.tobj'

Now, back to the missing flags in China. I drove to the port and took the ferry, getting many errors like this (shortened for brevity):

Code:
00:02:41.127 : <WARNING> [vis_query] Too many (3856) map items detected - using slow path! Position: 353372;13.513;-246828  view_id: 0x20
00:02:45.519 : <ERROR> [model] Unknown look name 'default' on model '/model.rtasia2/sign/traffic/kr/give_road_kr.pmd'
00:02:56.633 : <ERROR> [prefab_model] Error loading output traffic rule 'on_ramp' for node 2 (prefab.r2a2k00w)
00:03:15.662 : <ERROR> [model] Unknown look name 'default' on model '/model.rtasia2/sign/traffic/kr/give_road_kr.pmd'
00:04:00.237 : <WARNING> [resource_task] Default temporary buffer is insufficient while reading '/model.rtasia3/buildings/korean/seoul_kiosk.dds' with size 44739408
00:04:38.206 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/model.rtasia3/props/kr/hurghdkblue.tobj' in the read_only mode.
00:04:38.206 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/model.rtasia3/props/kr/hurghdkblue.tobj'
00:04:52.179 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/automat/7e/7e6e77d0dc0b864d.mat' in the read_only mode.
00:04:52.179 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/automat/7e/7e6e77d0dc0b864d.mat'
00:04:53.072 : <ERROR> Vegetation position pool was depleted! (12549 of 12288; quad size: [236.531, 168.953]) Expect missing vegetation! uid: 0x42C3884C5E800000
00:04:53.073 : <ERROR> Detail vegetation texture: /material/terrain/grass_dry_tall_sc.tobj, Density: 33
00:07:37.123 : <ERROR> [model] Unknown look name 'cn_hwy' on model '/road_template/us/us_shoulder.pmd'

(Note that I have set r_buffer_page_size to 50) These seem more relevant to the flags:

Code:
00:07:37.779 : <ERROR> [semaphore_model] Model 'tr_sem_mdl.212t111' for semaphore with id 2 not found! Please use semaphore profile and/or fix the model name (/prefab/cross_temp/us_cross_2-1-2_country_t_1-1_country_no_ai_tmpl.pmd)
00:07:38.129 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/material/ui/lp/china/trailer_rear.mat' in the read_only mode.
00:07:38.129 : <ERROR> [resource_task] Can not open '/material/ui/lp/china/trailer_rear.mat'
00:07:38.788 : [trigger] Handled action (trig_action.cam7_on_off)
00:07:38.865 : <ERROR> [semaphore_profile] Unable to find profile '212t111' for semaphore 2 (/prefab/cross_temp/us_cross_2-1-2_country_t_1-1_country_no_ai_tmpl.ppd)

Given all the file access errors, I have considered whether I got a broken download. However, I re-downloaded them (from this forum again) and they are identical.

And now to the tl;dr! On my Quest, I am trying to understand a) where the issue lies and b) if there's something I can do, or c) if this is something in the way the mod is built. If I can do anything to help/test/etc., of course I'm happy to do so. The idea of "oh well, just run it in DirectX" seems a punt and bothers my OCD, thus why I'm diving into this. :) (Also, I play in Linux and the game is less stable and more choppy when using the Windows version under Proton, so a solution is desirable because of that too.)

I appreciate your time in looking at this, and any ideas you might have.
 

summershere

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Also I just wanted to add that I love the mod (and the others) and I'm having fun driving around to all the new places, whether it has all the textures or not. :) The new content is amazing!
 

summershere

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
FYI - someone answered my question over on the SCS forums, and has already made a script to fix it. So any mod affected needs to redo some of their textures to compress them in the correct way. And the error messages, while of concern, are not relevant.

Here's the script and an explanation from their older post:

I'm going to try this now on my install, but hopefully it can be fixed for the next releases! Still enjoying the mods, but they will be even better without black spots everywhere.
 

summershere

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Confirmed that this works. I unpacked the scs files, ran the conversion script on every .dds file inside, then re-packed it. Textures everywhere!
 
shape1
shape2
shape3
shape4
shape7
shape8
Top